Insights

It’s the end of week two of my Swahili Language training. I confess that the  grammar portions are moving along, there is some retention of words and my shyness to practice speaking is ever so slowly diminishing. All that is good, though unlikely to impress anyone who might have different expectations.
On my quiet walk back from supper yesterday evening, it occurred to me however, that maybe the opportunity for language study is not the primary gift to me in this place. Maybe it’s to learn about the people, what makes their heart beat and not just their language. Let me explain.
As I mentioned in a previous posting, this TCDC Centre is host to so many groups which gather to explore the creation of futures which will bring about justice in one way or another. That is my description of what is offered and not theirs. And as these groups come and go, so do people from all over the world though particularly from East Africa. Put common meal times into the mix and you have endless opportunities for conversations with people who live in a different context to mine.
Last week there were many from different countries looking at the electoral systems and governance issues. This week there is a Community based economic development seminar and a very unique youth leadership development program of partnership between students in Kenya and Denmark. Over the next week, we’ll see people coming in to look at trade impacts on agricultural sustainability, and community empowerment strategies. These global issues which are examined at the local levels for the purposes of creating a better world, fuels my soul as many of you would know.
But there is something more happening here. I finally saw that today. I saw that I am being given a gift, a rare gift of hearing where and how hope lies in the hearts of the people across this continent and beyond. For example, on Friday I met a young man from Kenya. We sat together for breakfast. I always ask what the person is here for and how their time is going. Well with this young man, passion just flooded his face and he was most eager to talk about his time visiting a few of the local mining sites as part of their learning about globalization and IMF policies.
At supper time, I sat and ate with another group of similar students. Halfway through the meal, the conversation turned towards the things they are learning, how they see the challenges ahead and how the young people have begun to change life in Kenya through constitutional reform and popular education of basic rights in their civil society. The passion around the table was awesome and the conversation real and articulate and informed.
Part way through the conversation, that young man from the morning joined in the conversation. Four of us talked for nearly two hours and it was in that time I realized that this is the real gift of this time here. I am drawn to and am drawing out people and their hopes for a better world. Whether its the woman from Denmark who is part of a healing ministry with those dealing with schizophrenia, the woman involved with a rehabilitation centre for the disabled, the man from Yemen or the Masai leader from Kenya or these wonderful young adults, people know that the world can be made different, one person at a time! Hearing their hope and their analysis of justice in the midst of such challenges is truly the presence of God among us.
I leave you with a picture of my new friend outside my cottage. He surprised me this afternoon while sitting on the ground studying!!  He’s about 3 feet long from tip to tip.   Can anyone identify him for me?

About Tiina Cote

I am ministry personnel with The United Church of Canada interested in global relationships. I believe that these relationships have the potential to be woven as mutually beneficial in the face of the complexity of our histories, our current place in the world and our future hopes. I leave behind my congregational and wider church commitments for awhile to work alongside some of the people in Tanzania. I hope that experience will nurture and ultimately challenge all of us towards right relationships within our one earth community! I bring along a life focused on developing creative partnerships aimed at a common good. I studied sociology, urban development and theology and have found myself always curious about the spirit of place. The place I am rooted is an oasis largely created by the Niagara Escarpment and one of it's flowing Creeks. I look forward to finding new places of spirit and rootedness in Tanzania!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Insights

  1. Daphne says:

    Checked with Bill – it is a monitor. Quite a size!
    Daphne

  2. Linda Cormick says:

    Looks like a Nile monitor to me. We had a close encounter in L Manyara.

  3. Kim Alvarado says:

    What a wonderful gift, to be with others in the spirit of hope and encouragement. I imagine these moments as seeds of the future with so much potential. Very thoughtful reflection on the gifts that you are begin given.

    By the way, I agree with Linda and Daphne, it’s a monitor lizard.. .

  4. Flora Litt says:

    Tiina, what an amzing ministry of encouragement you are offering to the young people who are sharing their passion and their dreams for their country. You have a gift for inviting their stories and empowering by listening and caring. You are having a great opportunity for student conversations, and learning much more than Swahili! Hearing from persons from all over the country and the various kinds of interests and work they are doing, or wanting to do, must be giving you such a broad picture of the African scene. Your sharing of experiences is certainly teaching me so much. Thank you for taking the time to write.

  5. Jeannine VanderBeek says:

    You are such a great listener Tiina, this is your gift. You have never been intimidated by empty space in a conversation; choosing instead to let others fill it. You will have so many others coming to you for these gatherings, just wait and see.
    Just as at trivia nights and the animal kingdom questions, I’m going to have to concur with the veterinarian on the monitor picture you posted. As it turns out I would have guessed something completely different…….as usual.
    Peace, Love and Faith,
    Jeannine

Leave a comment